create undo/redo button

User Interface (UI) / User Experience (UX) · Articles & templates · Created by Careen Ligh
accepted
Just imagine this:
You are marking a paragraph to cut or copy and instead deleting it. Before you manage to refresh the page autosave comes along and that content, be it a few words or a thousand, is gone. Good luck remembering all of it in detail.


This has happened to me a number of times already. And as disabling autosave is no longer an option, i would wish for a undo/redo button to avoid loosing content by accident like that. It would only be necessary to undo a few steps and many things could be saved from being lost.

The Team's Response

Thanks for the suggestion, and we're very sorry you lost part of your work due to this issue. A new version of the WYSIWYG editor will be released by the end of June, which will include a functioning undo feature (among many other upgrades and fixes).
Current score

37/300 Votes · +7404 points

Votes Cast

  • +300

    by Writing Bishop
    on 2024-05-12 19:22
  • +300

    by PrincessHoneytea
    on 2024-05-12 15:43
  • +300

    by Kittymonster
    on 2024-05-11 20:29
    A small save history, the last 3-5 actions would do, plus a dedicated undo/redo button would be nice to have.
  • +100

    by BoringKeys
    on 2024-05-10 22:58
  • +300

    by Therizino
    on 2024-05-10 13:32
  • +100

    by Selibaque
    on 2024-05-10 10:49
  • +1

    by Blossom Tree Art
    on 2024-05-09 07:52
    I only use my PC but I can see how this might be useful for mobiles?
  • +300

    by GrassyHorizon
    on 2024-05-08 17:15
  • +300

    by Ttoctam
    on 2024-05-07 09:37
  • +300

    by deleyna
    on 2024-05-06 20:20
  • +300

    by Attacus
    on 2024-05-06 03:06
  • +100

    by LeeStepp
    on 2024-05-04 13:29
  • +100

    by JackLink916
    on 2024-05-04 10:02
  • +100

    by Art_n_Zeug
    on 2024-05-03 16:30
  • +100

    by A Revolutionary Velociraptor
    on 2024-05-03 08:36
  • +300

    by prestonthedm
    on 2024-05-02 23:29
  • +100

    by A Rambunctious Bananafolk
    on 2024-05-02 18:05
    I have actually found myself losing paragraphs of work by using Ctrl + Z, as sometimes WA doesn't recognize the last operation I put into it. It will instead delete the last chunk of text that was written, for some reason. Having a dedicated un/redo button would help, I think. (No, I did not know of a *redo* keybind until about 3 seconds ago (Ctrl + Y for reference).)
  • +1

    by juggaloChaos
    on 2024-05-01 12:08
  • +300

    by A Roaring Bananafolk
    on 2024-05-01 01:29
  • +100

    by NotAPandaWasTaken
    on 2024-05-01 00:47
  • +300

    by moose.reads
    on 2024-04-30 14:20
  • +1

    by grinningsatyr
    on 2024-04-28 13:20
  • +100

    by A Thundering Elf
    on 2024-04-27 21:00
  • +300

    by Thereasonwhy
    on 2024-04-27 02:36
  • +1

    by Amancham
    on 2024-04-26 19:57
    WeStanNikolai already mentioned that there is an undo option already. However, I agree that it's not visible or obvious and I had the same issue happen until I found with some searching, that the Ctrl + Z option exists.
  • +300

    by ColTigh128
    on 2024-04-26 13:01
  • +1

    by Goreface
    on 2024-04-26 05:38
  • +300

    by Christelijk13
    on 2024-04-25 22:49
  • +300

    by Inferus0
    on 2024-04-25 22:09
  • +300

    by Mournblade94
    on 2024-04-25 17:55
  • +300

    by alegrand12
    on 2024-04-25 17:49
  • +300

    by N7 Sgt Pwnage
    on 2024-04-25 17:45
  • +300

    by Slav2297
    on 2024-04-25 06:16
  • +300

    by Garun Wulfhart
    on 2024-04-25 00:59
  • +100

    by Jedu
    on 2024-04-24 19:46
  • +100

    by A Beloved Devil
    on 2024-04-24 19:03
  • -1

    by WeStanNikolai
    on 2024-04-24 09:03
    Hi there, you can press Ctrl + Z to undo your last step, even after autosave triggered :)
  • +300

    by Careen Ligh
    on 2024-04-23 19:44